Wonder Woman: I Believe in Love

Hello to all three of my readers (lol). I have returned from a long hiatus–was a little busy moving to a little town called Los Angeles and have spent the past month or so getting acquainted with the city and settling into my new job/temporary housing/finding permanent housing now that I’ve found a permanent job. Anywho, I’m back this time with a review of Wonder Woman, which you shall soon see has been moved to my Top Ten.

Let’s get to it.

Okay, so first I’d like to address the guy who said the only reason Patty Jenkins was brought on as director was because of “political pressure”: a big fuck you to you, sir. Seriously. A female-directed film about a female super hero is EXACTLY what this world needs. And not only did it completely shatter the Bechdel Test (which I firmly believe is an abhorrently overused concept in feminism that needs to die, but more on that another time) it shattered all stereotypes of women in film. A crazy important concept given the film climate these days is literally demanding we have strong, ambitious women as lead players.

One thing I adored about Gal Gadot’s Wonder Woman is that she was incredibly strong in her range of emotion. Whether this was a personal choice or a directorial move, when trouble arose you could see the tears well up in Diana’s eyes. You could literally see how strongly she felt over everything going on in her eyes, and to me that made up for any minor errors in logic. Gadot really showed emotional prowess in the movie, something we tend to miss in other films with strong women. I think all too often we push so hard for a strong female lead and end up with someone who is emotionless, with only inhuman drive left on the surface and pretty much nothing beyond that. Rarely do we get a real glimpse of what is not just a woman’s range of emotion, but the range of emotions in all of humanity. Seeing that range was wonderfully refreshing.

And honestly, this is a movie like no other. Sure, Marvel has Black Widow and X-Men have Raven, Storm, and now Laura from Logan, but never have we really had a huge box office flick like Wonder Woman where the entire plot was female-centric. To see a girl on screen kicking ass like that honestly left me feeling as if I could go out and fight fifty guys at once (I won’t because I’m clearly not Diana…)

To touch on the Bechdel test: many people may say that this won’t pass because of the romance between Diana and Steve. I say to hell with it. Reality is that it is human to fall in love with someone, and the writers clearly made this subplot relatively minor, and I felt it made her less Amazonian/Godlike and much more human. Sexual innuendos aside, the writing added much-needed humor and pushed along a power couple I can definitely get behind (I don’t care what you say, I am always for a power couple). In the end, it was Steve making a sacrifice for Diana because of love, and not the other way around, so I’m happy.

Rating: 10/10

One thought on “Wonder Woman: I Believe in Love

Leave a Reply

